Any Online College Students Out There?

• Harper'sBizarre

Harper'sBizarre (100)

:
    Online classes are not for everyone, and though they offer the same curriculum as traditional classes, the experience is not the same.
    There are great perks and irritating drawbacks to choosing to take your classes online, and I think that it would be cool if fellow students could share their thoughts and experiences about this relatively new format of learning.

What do you like about it? What do you dislike about it? What do you wish you knew before you started?

Maybe you are not an online student yet but are considering it. What do you want to know?
    October 1st, 2018 at 11:22pm
  • nearly witches.

nearly witches. (15020)

:
    Admin
    I'm currently studying online with the Open University and so far, I'm actually enjoying it more than "actual" university. I think the primary bonus for me is that I can work around my work schedule, so I don't have to drop my wages at work and I still get a full degree at the end of 3 years. There's a lot of people from around the world as well, and it makes it really interesting to study.

The only downside so far is technology -- the tutorial system is very glitchy and doesn't let me book things a lot of the time and as it's not physically face-to-face, there's no way to fix it other than waiting on the system being fixed. It's really infuriating as I'm trying to work my schedule around everything I have to do and I can't do anything until they fix it.
    October 3rd, 2018 at 01:32pm
  • Harper'sBizarre

Harper'sBizarre (100)

:
    @ nearly witches.
    Technology is a pain with online classes. I live out in the country and my internet connection can be pretty glitchy, which is stressful. To combat this, I try to move as much work off-line as possible. My printer is my best friend lol.

Do you ever find it lonely, though?
    October 4th, 2018 at 11:13pm
  • nearly witches.

nearly witches. (15020)

:
    Admin