Warning: This is Gonna Hurt

Sixx:A.M. is back. After a successful first album (The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack), James Michael, Dj Ashba, and Nikki Sixx return to give us yet another powerful compilation of music. Based off of Nikki's newest book, This is Gonna Hurt: Music, Photography, and Life Through the Distorted Lens of Nikki Sixx, this album incorporates many of the same ideas as the band's first: perseverance, death, life. But there are some newfound ones as well, including overlooking people's flaws, which is actually what the album was originally based on. To date, the album has only one single, "Lies of the Beautiful People," but it has already topped charts nationwide. This is Gonna Hurt was, at one point, one of the most downloaded albums on iTunes, earning a spot on the 'Top Albums.' Sixx:A.M. definitely kept their promise with their fine beats and emotional lyrics. This is gonna hurt.

Track 01. This is Gonna Hurt -- The title track is quite fitting to be the first on the album. With its eery beginning and the powerful lyrics, not to mention quite the performance on drums, the band very much sets the tone for the rest of the album: raw and full of emotion. It's quite a catchy song as well with the repetition of some verses and part of the chorus. This song definitely pumps you up for the rest of the album.

Track 02. Lies of the Beautiful People -- As this is the album's top-charting single, it is certainly a stand-out. The song is beautiful, both musically and lyrically. The guitars are intense and give the song a powerful feel. Probably the most significant aspect of this song is the message; don't judge a book by its cover.

Track 03. Are You With Me? -- This is a nice, upbeat song, and it seems as though the band is asking you if you are understanding what they are trying to say via the music; I think that's a nice touch. The guitars and drums are put together very well, and that makes the song pretty catchy. This song is one that can get stuck in your head fairly easily.

Track 04. Live Forever -- With its guitar-orientated opening, this song gives a sense of power and intensity, but the chorus switches it up a bit, making the song seem like a ballad of sorts. So many emotions are put into a single song, and that makes it even more beautiful. The lyrics, especially those of the chorus, are just lovely and definitely leave an impact on the listener. Musically, the song is purely amazing, and that's really the only word to describe it; you have to listen to it yourself to feel it.

Track 05. Sure Feels Right -- This is the first "real" ballad on the album, and it is certainly a break from the intensity of the previous tracks. The beginning of the song sets the mood for the rest: calm and a hint of sadness and longing. The lyrics are beautiful, and they make it seem as though this song was meant to be a love song of sorts. Well I don't know what you're doing to me, but it sure feels right / Well I don't know what you're doing to me, but let's do it all night... The lyrics paired with the sense of innocence that the music instills make this quite the ballad.

Track 06. Deadlihood -- This goes right back into the intense riffs and drums full of beat. The song as a whole seems to be directed to a lover that left one behind, and the lyrics make it seem as though they are trying to move on. The song definitely has an impact in every way, an impact that is hard to put into words.

Track 07. Smile -- Another ballad, this song is a break from the previous track's hardship and implied disgust; it shows the beauty of a relationship. James' vocals are just plain beautiful, giving the song that extra loveliness, and the acoustics even add to that. This could also be the perfect love song with its melody and romantic lyrics.

Track 08. Help is on the Way -- Again, a nice break from a ballad, this song is more centered around guitars it seems. The riffs are raw and the bass is evident; two things that always go well together. This is one of those songs where you have to listen to it to gain a feel for the meaning, as it could be different for everybody.

Track 09. Oh My God -- As stupid as the title may sound, this song is a wonderful combination of James' vocals and powerful drums. It can be considered a ballad of sorts depending on how you take the lyrics and whatnot. But one thing is for sure; the guitar solo is breathtaking, and it will leave you stunned. This is yet another beautiful song on this album.

Track 10. Goodbye My Friends -- The piano in the beginning of this song is beautiful, yet misleading. As soon as it ends, a burst of guitar and drums blares out. Throughout the song, a generally creepy chime kicks in, which adds to the whole atmosphere of the album, as it's almost over by this point. The song can be taken as a loud, triumphant fair-well, leaving the listener pumped, just like the first track of the album.

Track 11. Skin -- You thought the album was over? Nope; the band just has to get one more emotional roller coaster in here to leave you thinking and feeling. This is probably the most emotional ballad I have heard, ever. Every person I know that has listened to it has cried at one point or another, or sometimes through the whole song. It is indeed a very powerful, saddening song. They don't even know you, all they see is scars / They don't see the angel living in your heart / Let them find the real you, buried deep within / Let them know with all you've got, that you are not your skin... Those lyrics, paired with the almighty piano make this song one that will always leave an impression.

I believe Sixx:A.M. kept their promise, don't you?

My rating for this album? 5/5. It is absolutely wonderful; I will never not love it.

Latest reviews